Ultimate authority for all of CDTC's actions rests with the Policy Board, which operates by consensus. The Policy Board delegates authority to the Planning Committee to recommend plans and programs to the Policy Board for action. CDTC's Policy Board members are encouraged to bring forth issues and concerns at any time -- they are expected to be active participants in the process.

Policy Board meetings are open to the public.  The public is welcome to comment on transportation related issues within the Capital District.  To register to speak and/ or to request auxiliary aids or services and reasonable accommodations please contact us at: 458-2161 or cdtc@cdtcmpo.org. Request for aids, services, or reasonable accommodations must be made at least seven business days prior to the meeting.



Chair: Mayor Kathy Sheehan, City of Albany

Vice-Chair: Carm Basile, Chief Executive Officer, Capital District Transportation Authority

Secretary: Patrick Barnes, Regional Director, NYS DOT Region-1

To learn more read the Guide to CDTC.

CDTC's Policy Board Members

  • Albany CountyDaniel P. McCoy, Albany County Executive
  • Albany CountyAndrew Joyce, Chair, Albany County Legislature
  • Albany CityKathy M. Sheehan, Mayor
  • Albany County Airport AuthorityPhilip F.Calderone, Esq.
  • Albany Port District CommissionPatrick K. Jordan, Esq.
  • Capital District Regional Planning CommissionCraig M. Warner
  • Capital District Transportation AuthorityCarm Basile, CEO
  • Clifton Park Town: Phil Barrett, Supervisor 
  • Colonie TownPaula A. Mahan, Supervisor
  • Cohoes CityWilliam T. Keeler, Mayor
  • Federal Highway Administration: Richard J. Marquis
  • Federal Transit Administration Region-2: Stephen Goodman, Regional Admin.
  • Mechanicville City: Dennis M. Baker, Mayor
  • NYS Department of Transportation Region-1: Patrick Barnes, Regional Director
  • New York State Thruway Authority: Joseph Stahl, Acting Director
  • Rensselaer City: Michael E. Stammel, Mayor
  • Rensselaer County: Steven McLaughlin, Chair, Rensselaer County Executive
  • Rensselaer County: Michael E. Stammel, Chair, Rensselaer County Legislature
  • Saratoga County: Theodore T. Kusnierz Jr., Chair, Saratoga County Board of Supervisors
  • Saratoga County: Thomas C. Werner
  • Saratoga Springs: Meg Kelly, Mayor
  • Schenectady City: Gary McCarthy, Mayor
  • Schenectady County: Anthony Jasenski, Sr., Chair, Schenectady County Legislature
  • Schenectady County: Joe Landry
  • Scotia Village: Thomas Gifford, Mayor
  • Troy City: Patrick Madden, Mayor
  • Watervliet City: Charles V. Patricelli, Mayor

    As of April 2021

2021 Meetings

Policy Board meetings are held quarterly on the 1st Thursday of the month at 3:00 p.m. at the CDTC Office (unless otherwise specified). Contact us if you would like to register to speak.

2021 Meeting/Mail Out Schedule Including TIP Amendment Submission Deadlines

March 4, 2021

Watch the meeting on CDTC's Youtube channel

I.    Opening Remarks

II.   Administration

      A.  Draft December 3, 2020 meeting minutes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ACTION ANTICIPATED

      B. Nominating Subcomittee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . .  ACTION ANTICIPATED

III.  Privilege of the floor

IV.  Presentation by Empire State Passengers Association

V.   2020-2022 Unified Planning Work Program Amendments . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ACTION ANTICIPATED

      A. 2021-2022 Budget Carryovers

      B. Task 2.30.2 Highway Condition Inventory City of Albany

      C. Task 4.21 Freight Planning

      D. Task 4.30 Smart Communities 

      E. Task 6.13 Transit Planning

VI.  Final Public Participation Plan Update & Approval . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ACTION ANTICIPATED

VII. 2021-2022 Linkage Program Applications & Recommendations . . . . . . . . . . ACTION ANTICIPATED

VIII.TIP Application & Evaluation Update

IX.  CDTC/CDRPC Technical Assistance Program

X.   Status of Planning Activities

       A. CDTC

       B. CDRPC

       C. CDTA

       D. NYSDOT - Local Projects & NYSDOT Projects 

       E. NYSTA

       F. Albany County Airport Authority

       G. Albany Port District Commission

       H. Linkage/Local Planning Activities 

XI.   Other

XII.  Upcoming Meetings/ Events

        A. March 9 - Bike/Ped Advisory Committee *

        B. March 17 - Community Planners Forum *

        C. April 1- Tools of the Trade: Workshop for Human Services Transportation Providers*

        D. April 7 - Planning Committee *

XIII.  Adjournment

        *Virtual meeting

Policy Board Meeting Material Archive:

2020 Meetings
2019 Meetings
2018 Meetings
2017 Meetings
2016 Meetings

Additional archived meeting materials are available on this page through 2007. Materials earlier than 2007 are available by request. Contact us for more information

NOTE: Meeting materials available on this web site may not include all materials included in the meeting mail out, such as letters from other agencies and brochures. There may also be materials not available until the meeting, such as handouts and audio-visual presentations.

The Policy Board also maintains an Administrative & Financial (A & F) Standing Subcommittee composed of the CDTC Chairman and other appointees. This subcommittee handles CDTC personnel and housekeeping issues on behalf of the Policy Board.

The Capital District Transportation Committee (CDTC) is committed to ensuring that no person is excluded from participation in, or denied the benefits of, its metropolitan transportation planning process on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, disability, or economic status, as protected by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and related statutes and regulations. You may request additional information by contacting CDTC as described below. If you believe you have been subjected to discrimination under Title VI or related statutes or regulations, you may file a complaint to the CDTC by sending your written complaint to Attention: Executive Director, CDTC; 1 Park Place; Colonie, New York 12205, or by sending an e-mail to ej@cdtcmpo.org.