The Capital District Transportation Committee (CDTC) is the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Albany-Schenectady-Troy and Saratoga Springs metropolitan areas.

  • CDTC's designated planning area includes the counties of Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga (except the Town of Moreau and the Village South Glens Falls) and Schenectady.
  • CDTC is a forum for local elected officials and transportation representatives to share ideas and make decisions about major transportation capital investments.
  • CDTC is required by federal law and supported with federal funding.
  • Federal transportation funding is controlled by the consensus decisions of CDTC -- about $100 million per year through the Transportation Improvement Program.
  • CDTC's decision making body is the Policy Board.
  • The Planning Committee serves as the technical committee to the Policy Board.
  • CDTC's staff provides technical assistance to the Planning Committee and the Policy Board for informed decision making. Staff activities are listed in the Unified Planning Work Program.
  • CDTC's priorities are guided by the Regional Transportation Plan, known as New Visions 2050.
  • CDTC has enjoyed a high degree of local success and national recognition due to a highly-collaborative environment of mutual trust and respect.
  • CDTC underwent federal certification in 2020 and its planning process has been certified effective September 22, 2020.

For more information about CDTC, explore a brief brochure or read a more detailed Reference Guide to CDTC. For a full understanding of how CDTC operates, read CDTC's Continuing Operations Plan or contact us.