Meeting Minutes

December 15, 2005





Steve Bland, Capital District Transportation Authority

Mary Brizzell, Town of Colonie

Ken DeCerce, representing Mary Ann Johnson, Saratoga County

Theresa Egan, Town of Bethlehem

Michael Franchini, representing Michael Breslin, Albany County

Kent Gray, Schenectady County

Robert Hansen, representing Commissioner Tom Madison, NYSDOT

Terry Hurley, Albany Port District Commission

Steve Iachetta, representing John O’Donnell, Albany County Airport


Mayor John McDonald, City of Cohoes, Chairman

Mayor Mike McLaughlin, Village of Scotia

Robert Phillips, Saratoga County, Vice-Chairman

Jill Ross, representing Don Bell, New York State Thruway Authority

Bernie Sisson, representing Mayor Brian Stratton, City of


Mike Stammel, Capital District Regional Planning Commission

Linda von der Heide, representing Kathleen Jimino, Rensselaer 





Frank Bonafide, NYSDOT Region 1

Tom Kearney, Federal Highway Administration

John Poorman, CDTC staff

Cathy Woodruff, Times Union




Chairman McDonald opened the Capital District Transportation Committee meeting at approximately 3:05 p.m. and welcomed those in attendance to the CDTC offices. Members and attendees then introduced themselves.




May 19, 2005 Meeting Minutes



The minutes of the October 20, 2005 CDTC meeting were approved as written.




Chairman McDonald extended the privilege of the floor to visitors.  There were no requests to speak.


Administrative & Financial Standing Subcommittee Report


John Poorman reported that the Subcommittee will meet on December 21 to accept the 2004-05 audit report (there were no problems found) and approve the 2006 staffing plans and salary structure.  He also noted that implementation of new health insurance practices is on target for implementation January 1.


Appointment of Nominating Subcommittee


Chairman McDonald noted that it is CDTC’s practice for the Chairman to annually appoint a nominating subcommittee to develop nominations for officers and at-large Planning Committee and Policy Board positions.  He then appointed Tom Werner, Ken DeCerce, Mary Brizzell, Mayor Mike McLaughlin, Steve Bland and Charles Houghtaling to serve on the nominating subcommittee for the coming year.  The group will meet prior to the next Policy Board meeting to agree on nominations for 2006-07.





A392, Relocation of Maxwell Road Part 2.


Mike Franchini reported that the requested action was complemented by an action completed by the Planning Committee earlier in the month.  Because of cost increases to project A296 (Maxwell Rd. Part 1), federal funds are being transferred from part 2 to part 1.  Additional town and county funds will be committed to part 1 to make that project whole, and additional town funds will replace the federal funds in part 2.  Because the action involves eliminating the federal aid commitment for part 2, Policy Board concurrence is necessary.  After discussion, members approved the amendment.





Mr. Poorman made a PowerPoint presentation on the national “Colloquy on the Coming Transformation of Travel” and its products.  The effort was funded by the NYSMPO Association and FHWA, with NYSDOT match, and facilitated by CDTC.  The colloquy involved approximately 35 national and international experts in the areas of demographics, economics, public policy, technology and urban growth.  Over 48 hours at the Rensselaerville Institute, participants produced consensus statements of 30-40 year expectations in each subject and identified implications and recommendations for metropolitan planning.


Discussion ensued regarding application of the material in the Capital District and mechanisms to publicize the products.  Mr. Poorman noted that he has been asked to present this material at the upcoming Transportation Research Board annual meeting.





Mr. Poorman briefly reported that work progresses on the New Visions 2030 effort, with a desire to complete the effort during 2006.





Capital District Transportation Authority


Steve Bland reported that CDTA expects to release its draft service plan for Saratoga Springs as part of the Transit Development Plan effort.  CDTA is also progressing work for the Schenectady rail station.  CDTA is sifting through the implications of SAFETEA-LU:  The jobs access program is now a formula program, meaning less funding for CDTA and the requirements of the New Freedoms Initiative appear significant considering the limited funding available.  The new Small Starts program may have some applicability for the BRT initiative.


Capital District Regional Planning Commission


Mike Stammel reported on CDRPC’s multi-jurisdictional Combined Sewer Overflow (CSO) planning study; work is awaiting state action.  CDRPC has also secured a new Foreign Trade Zone agent.


New York State Thruway Authority


Jill Ross reported that the Thruway Authority approved its 2006 contracts program, with few changes from what is contained in the 2005-10 TIP.


New York State Department of Transportation


Bob Hansen reported that the first roundabout in Malta opened.  Pavement work is complete on the I-90 project; bridge work will resume in 2006.  Region 1 has also re-opened the South Mall Expressway ramp.  Work continues on expanding the TRANSMIT system of speed monitoring through E-ZPass readers.  A decision is expected shortly on the Exit 6 design and staging.  Region 1 is working to reduce the number of design alternatives for the Exit 3 project.  Two major projects have been let:  NY 7 over I-890 and the NY 7 Crosstown Arterial rehab.  Both came in over estimate, but will be awarded.



Albany County Airport Authority


Steve Iachetta reported that security area improvements are going well and emphasized the link between Exit 3 improvements and support for low fare carriers.


Albany Port District Commission


Terry Hurley reported that the port has had a good year with both imports and exports up.  Longshore labor has been up 40%.  Steel and cocoa are being handled for the first time in a while.





The next meeting was tentatively scheduled for 3:00 pm, Thursday March 16, 2006 at the CDTC offices.  [Secretary’s note:  the meeting date was subsequently corrected to Thursday, February 16, 2006.]  There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 4:10 pm.



Respectfully submitted,





Thomas C. Werner